Product Blessings Within the Queendom

Hey Queens and Kings,

Today I will be introducing you all to some of my go-to products. Many of which are essentials. Hold up, let me emphasize that, THEY ARE ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY. You need these products, or a variant of them, to ensure that you are taking proper care of your natural crown! OK, I’ll stop yelling like somebody’s Momma now! Others, like certain brands of edge controls, are purely preference-based, and aren’t truly even required; they are simply accents to your overall look. I’ll expound upon what I mean here in the body of my blog. With that, let’s get to it!

snapchat-1279293041
This is what my sink looks like on a regular wash and style day! Excuse my cheesy smile. Credit: Micailah Nobles

   I’d like to start off with a mini-how to on washing your hair. The most important step in the natural hair process, is that of washing your hair. This includes prepping your hair for washing, as well as the products needed to execute the process. And yes, it is a process. First, you want to make sure that you section your hair into preferably four sections. Doing this makes the process of combing through your hair and evenly distributing the product throughout your hair, a much easier task which can sometimes get really arduous really fast. Trust me, I have been there and I DO NOT want to go back.

   After sectioning your hair, clip it up with hair-clips or tie it with hair ties, that way when you begin to wash it, you avoid borrowing strands and not fully cleaning every strand of your hair. Now, here’s where it gets real iffy! Many woman that are natural will tell you to only use Conditioner on your hair; that shampoo is a BIIIIIG NO-NO!! Well, I’m going to go against the grain here and ruffles some feathers. USE A SHAMPOO! MAKE SURE IT IS SULFATE FREE, AND KEEP IT MOVING! I use Creme of Nature Argan Oil Moisture and Shine Shampoo. It is the bomb! It has been a refresher and really helps you not only retain moisture but also it facilitates hair growth. It wasn’t until I started  using my sulfate shampoo again, that I really started to see some length! And now I’m stunting! 😉 In addition to shampooing your hair, use a conditioner and make sure you have the water on cold. Here, while you still have conditioner in your hair, is where you want to begin detangling your hair. Grab a comb and gently comb through your sections. DO NOT RAKE through your hair; you don’t want to strip your curl pattern.

When drying, let it air dry and rub your favorite hair oil throughout your hair. Make sure it is evenly distributed throughout your head. A quick tip here: If you can see the shine, then you’ve put in the time! Refrain from putting your hair in a towel to dry it. Let it hang wild, big and free! If you choose to cover your head, do so with a 100% cotton towel T-Shirt. This will protect your hair and retain moisture like no other.

Lastly, and these are my freebies, invest in a leave-in conditioner! I recently started religiously using mine and it has locked in moisture, and added so much volume to my hair. Mine is from Etsy Dad’s Naturals, and it is so amazing! I recommend this one as it is extremely affordable and works well. In addition to your leave-in conditioner, get you a wide-toothed comb, and a detangling bristle brush as both ease the pain of detangling your hair and making it smooth enough to actually work with and style it. And I’ll leave you with this, edge control is a beautiful accent. Slaying your edges makes an everyday puff-ball turn into a radiant angelic puffy cloud that can make you feel unstoppable.

That’s all for today, Peace, Love and Product Blessings,

-QueenNobles ❤

Leave a Reply

