Summarizing my Blog Journey to This Day

Hey Royalty,

Instead of presenting new content, I’m going to take the time to review my blog statistics. I also want to let you all know of somethings that I have had the pleasure of learning and figuring out during my first attempt at a blog site. I think it’s important for self-reflection and outward self-examination, and that is what I have purposed this blog for. So, now that the introductory piece is over and done with (Cheeeeck!!!), let’s get started with some observations.

So, to start off, I’d like to discuss some tools that I utilized within each blog post and why some were effective and why others weren’t. In my most visited blog posts (Introduction to Natural-Haired Queendom[27 views from initial post to now] and Protective Styles [2 favorites and 23 views from initial post to now]), you’ll notice that my tone of voice and sentence structure are a lot more genuine than in some of my other posts. I consider this to be a tool because how you word and present things are going to be one of the most important components that will allow you to reach your target audience and maybe even unintended audiences as well. Allowing my audience to see an authentic version of myself through my writing about the various stages of my hair and reasonings behind them, is what I believed to be why I garnered the amount of views and interests that I did.

A second tool that I found really effective was the usage of vlogs or video blogs. This, I think, provided a real life element to a blog, where words are generally the dominant way of communicating. It allowed my audience to see who I was and grow with me. Something that I find to be very unique and potentially really inspiring. A third tool that I found effective was using headlines and bullet points to section off information. I felt that this provided more clarity for you all, and I will definitely continue to utilize these tools when necessary.

Now for some tools that I found ineffective:

I utilized a couple of different widgets and they all seemed to garner little to no attention and, to  me, seemed rather useless. I added a twitter widget that promote my twitter account but it seemed to just kind of lurk in the background and lose its intended purpose. Another widget that I added was an “about me” widget that seemed terribly redundant as I recently made an About Me Webpage on this website. So, eh, it was weird for me.

Potential for improvement? ALWAYS!

Being that this is my first attempt at having a consistent flow of information on the Internet that I am solely responsible for, I realized along the way that there are many things that I could improve upon as I continue this Journey. Number one is posting regularly! Oh my Lord, your girl is busy 24/7 so updating my blog regularly was not always feasible but as I continue with my blog, that is one thing that I want to make sure I get better at maintaining. A second component by which I feel I can improve on is having a variety of pictures. A lot of the pictures that I used were taken by me and of me; however, I want to expand a little to utilize pictures taken of me by someone else or pictures taken by me of someone/something else. Of course, proper attributes will be applied but I think implementing that will allow for a broader more accessible flow of communication and likability. People like variety, I think that may be satisfied through better more inclusive styles of pictures.

In addition to some improvements, I would like to take a brief moment to state potential prospects of my blog and what I have gathered from creating my own blog. I know that I’d like to continue using this blog because it has helped me become more genuine in my everyday pursuits and more self-actualized. For me this blog has allowed me to become more confident in how I hold and see myself. I believe those attributes of confidence and self-actualization are characteristics that I can take into any job interview or graduate school interview and be able to present myself in an adequate, promising, and competent manner.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lastly, my most popular week was the week of March 6th- March 12th! I received 36 views, 23 visitors, 1 like and 2 comments. That week of blogs featured:

My most popular post of the year was my very first introductory post with my Protective Styles blog being a very close second. Thanks for showing me love that week during my second blog review, guys!

I want to thank y’all for the love and support that you all have rendered unto me during this journey! My blog is not over so I’m not crying just yet! I will be back, quicker than Shea Moisture went out of business!!! (YES, THAT’S A CLAPBACK, BOO!!!) Hahaha!!! In the meantime, follow me on my  Instagram (@queennobles__) page to check out my adventures and journeys with my hair through pictures and funny captions.

byenobles
Until we meet, again, my loves!

Love,

Queen Nobles! It’s been a blast, y’all! ❤

Leave a Reply

